2015 Oscar Predictions

Without sounding snobbish, I have never put much stock in The Oscars, nor do I see them as a very credible venue for film awards. The way I see it everything boils down to politics. Although The Academy did an all-around decent job with the nominations in 2014 (a rare exception) they are back to their usual eye-rolling antics for this year. Nevertheless, I find The Oscars amusing enough to tune in so I figured I might as well post up my predictions! For every category I’ll post my prediction, as well as which entry I think should win out of those nominated. For example: My “Lukas Pick” in the BEST PICTURE category is not the film I consider to be the best film of the year; rather, it is the film I consider to be the best out of those nominated. I disagree with The Academy consistently, both in nominations and winners, but since this is their show I will refrain from vainly posting up my “THIS WASN’T EVEN NOMINATED AND IT SHOULD WIN!” picks. Note: I left out categories in which I had seen few/none of the nominees (shorts, etc.) Sorry for the rambling folks! Thanks for reading! 

BEST PICTURE:

Prediction: Boyhood
Lukas’ Pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:

Prediction: Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)
Lukas’ Pick: Michael Keaton (Birdman)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:

Prediction: Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Lukas’ Pick: Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:

Prediction: J.K. Simmons (Whiplash)
Lukas’ Pick: J.K. Simmons

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:

Prediction: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Lukas’ Pick: Patricia Arquette

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:

Prediction: How to Train Your Dragon 2
Lukas’ Pick: How to Train Your Dragon 2

DIRECTING:

Prediction: Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Lukas’ Pick: Richard Linklater

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY):

Prediction: The Theory of Everything (Anthony McCarten)
Lukas’ Pick: Inherent Vice (Paul Thomas Anderson)

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):

Prediction: Birdman (Multiple)
Lukas’ Pick: Nightcrawler

CINEMATOGRAPHY:

Prediction: Birdman (Emmanuel Lubezki)
Lukas’ Pick: Ida (Lukasz Zal & Ryszard Lenczewski)

COSTUME DESIGN:

Prediction: Into the Woods
Lukas’ Pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE:

Prediction: CitizenFour
Lukas’ Pick: CitizenFour

FILM EDITING:

Prediction: Whiplash (Tom Cross)
Lukas’ Pick: Whiplash

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:

Prediction: Leviathan
Lukas’ Pick: Leviathan / Ida

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE):

Prediction: Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)
Lukas’ Pick: Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

PRODUCTION DESIGN:

Prediction: Interstellar
Lukas’ Pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

VISUAL EFFECTS:

Prediction: Guardians of the Galaxy
Lukas’ Pick: Guardians of the Galaxy

 

Leave a Reply

